August 2017


August 2017

The 2017-18 school year is just around the corner with the first day of school on Thursday, August 17th.   I am fortunate to be the superintendent in two communities that strongly value public education. Our communities are committed to providing the best resources available to prepare our students for their future. USD223 has ideal communities in which to raise a family and obtain a great education.  

The USD223 Board of Education welcomes a new day in Kansas public education as five key factors converge to drive historic changes in the way we educate our children:

The Kansas State Board of Education has adopted a vision that Kansas will lead the world in the success of each student through emphasis on kindergarten readiness, improving graduation and postsecondary achievement rates, individual plans of study and social/emotional success; the Kansas legislature enacted a new school funding formula with additional funding targeted to lower-achieving students; this year launches a new accreditation system that shifts from a focus merely on reading and math tests to a broader view and a new measurement of how students succeed after high school; and educational attainment results in higher incomes, less poverty and more employment. School funding puts money into our communities through jobs, salaries and purchases. After years of neutral or declining funding, Kansas schools can finally begin to restore cut programs and positions and pay teachers a salary that exceeds inflation.

We know what has made Kansas schools successful in the past, and how to build on that success. We have made decades of improvements in all levels and have continued, when funding permits, to expand educational programs.  Kansas students succeed when these efforts, which often require additional staff, respond to local needs.

The members of the USD223 embrace this new day with optimism and ask for your support as we work to improve our students’ education and support their continued success.

Thank you,

Brian Cordel, USD223 Superintendent of Schools and 
USD223 Board Members; Darren Bott, Toby Bruna, Diane Gugenhan, Joselyn Kearn, Alan Ohlde, Scott Zabokrtsky, Jim Zarybnicky.